Yello rewarded by the Swiss Music Grand Prix 2022

The group Yello, formed by the duo Dieter Meier and Boris Blank, has been awarded the Swiss Grand Prix for Music 2022 by the Federal Office of Culture. They are distinguished for their “originality” and their “decisive influence in the field of electronic music”. Yello marked the history of music by using samples and synthetic sounds, and the singles The Race and Oh yeah were among the biggest hits on the international charts.

Yello has produced a total of 14 studio albums since its birth in the late 1970s: Boris Blank composed the music and Dieter Meier the lyrics. The latter is also the voice of the group and he realizes the visual concepts. The award ceremony will take place on September 16 at the Théâtre de l’Octogone in Pully, in the presence of Federal Councilor Alain Berset, the Federal Office of Culture said in a press release on Thursday.

Read also: “Yello has uninhibited Swiss music”

Leave a Comment