World Cup 2022: World Cup 2022: Why isn’t Italy at the World Cup in Qatar?

The soccer World Cup in Qatar is just around the corner. With Italy, however, the reigning European champion is not there. How does this happen? SPOX has the answer.

The wait will soon be over, at the end of the week, on Sunday (November 20th), the 22nd World Cup will open in Qatar. In the weeks that follow, 32 nations from all over the world fight for the legendary World Cup trophy. However, the reigning European champions, Italy, will not be there.

But why not? What happened? SPOX gives you the answer.

World Cup 2022: Why isn’t Italy at the World Cup in Qatar?

There is a fairly simple explanation for the absence of the Italian national team from a tournament as important as the World Cup: the Squadra Azzurra failed to qualify.

As tenth in the world rankings, the Italians were at home in pot one before the draw for World Cup qualification. After the draw, they formed Group C together with Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria and Lithuania, which ended eight rounds later with Switzerland in first place. Italy, runners-up in the group, along with eleven other nations, had to make it into the playoffs, where there were three more World Cup tickets up for grabs. Then came the shocking world championship knockout. In the semi-finals of path C, the 2021 European champions, North Macedonia, had to admit defeat 0-1 and were therefore out of the race.

World Cup qualification: The final table of Group C

Pl. team Sp. S u N Gates differential Points
1. Switzerland 8th 5 3 0 15:2 +13 18
2. Italy 8th 4 4 0 13:2 +11 16
3. Northern Ireland 8th 2 3 3 6:7 -1 9
4. Bulgaria 8th 2 2 4 6:14 -8th 8th
5. Lithuania 8th 1 0 7 4:19 -15 3

World Cup: Italy’s results at finals

For the four-time world champion, it is the second time in a row that he has not qualified for a World Cup finals after 2018 – only the fourth time that Italy has not been there.

However, there was also speculation that Italy could move up after the exclusion of World Cup participants Iran, who had attracted attention by refusing women access to the stadium. But in the end this did not happen.

Year host country result
1930 Uruguay not participated
1934 Italy World Champion
1938 France World Champion
1950 Brazil Out in the preliminary round
1954 Switzerland Out in the preliminary round
1958 Sweden not qualified
1962 Chile Out in the preliminary round
1966 England Out in the preliminary round
1970 Mexico Final / 2nd place
1974 Germany Out in the preliminary round
1978 Argentina 4th Place
1982 Spain World Champion
1986 Mexico round of 16
1990 Italy 3rd place
1994 United States Final / 2nd place
1998 France Quarterfinals
2002 South Korea/Japan round of 16
2006 Germany World Champion
2010 South Africa Out in the preliminary round
2014 Brazil Out in the preliminary round
2018 Russia not qualified
2022 Qatar not qualified

Leave a Comment