WhatsApp WhatsApp is updating its privacy settings, allowing users to disable their last seen, profile photos and about status updates for specific contacts. At this time, you can set these to either All, My Contact, or NO One. Anyone, or all of your contacts, can see your updates, or nobody can see it. The update can help people who don’t want to show their last seen status, profile or current about to a particular contact, but still want other people to see them. In contrast the Group and Status privacy settings already let you choose specific contacts who aren’t allowed to see your updates or add you to groups.
WhatsApp beta tracker WABetaInfo in a report says that WhatsApp is working on updated privacy settings of WhatsApp for Android and iOS beta versions. The update is said to introduce a new My Contacts Accept option in addition to allowing existing All, My Contacts, and Anyone users to hide their ‘Last Seen’, profile photos, and ‘About’ status from specific contacts. has been called for.
A screenshot shared by WABetaInfo shows the new option in place on WhatsApp for iOS in the Last Seen privacy settings. However, the source claims that it will also be available for Android users and other privacy settings, including about profile photos and status. Among other settings, WABetaInfo reports that users who disable their last seen status from their particular contacts will not be able to see their last seen status on the app. It’s just like you are not able to see the last seen of others if you have disabled their Reach till your Status.
WhatsApp WhatsApp has fixed a bug that could have led to the exposure of user data. WhatsApp In 2017 WhatsApp introduced the My Contacts Accept privacy setting for its status function. It was designed for users to disable specific contacts from viewing their status messages. WhatsApp WhatsApp also updated its group privacy settings in November 2019 by adding the My Contacts Accept option to let users know who among their contacts can add them to groups. WhatsApp is reportedly testing its privacy settings at the moment, although it will be available to beta testers in a future update.