virat kohli ms dhoni split captaincy: what is split captaincy india have implemented this formula

New Delhi
The theory of different captains in different formats of the cricket team of the same country is called split captaincy. Now the same formula is going to be implemented in Team India. If reports are to be believed, the captaincy of Virat Kohli is in danger. Rohit Sharma can replace him in the white ball format. If this happens, then Rohit will be the new captain of ODI and T20 while Virat Kohli will lead only the Test team.

When were different captains in India
However, this will not be the first time that a different player has been made captain in each format. Earlier, the captaincy has been divided between Anil Kumble and MS Dhoni. The talk is of 2007-08, then the great spinner Kumble was only in the Test while Dhoni was the leader of the ODI. But then Anil Kumble did not play in the white ball format.

Your vote has been registered.Thank you

Dhoni and Kohli were captains together
Dhoni was the captain of ODI and Virat Test from 2014 to 2016. When Dhoni announced his retirement overnight in Australia. In 2017, Kohli became the captain of every format of India. There was a similar ruckus two years ago on the Virat-Rohit issue. But after the World Cup, all these bets proved to be a fussy bomb. Then Virat Kohli had full support of BCCI. Some experts may even call it a lack of a strong contender. Then Rohit’s place in the Test was not confirmed.

Australia adopted the formula in the 90s
Australia has already adopted this split theory. Then he had Mark Taylor and Steve Waugh as captains for different formats. The captaincy was later divided between Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting. In the last decade, South Africa’s AB de Villiers and Faf du Plessis had also led the team in different formats by sharing a similar mix.

There is a discussion that Virat Kohli is going to leave his captaincy after the World T20. In ODIs and T20s, Rohit Sharma will be the new captain while Virat will be limited to Tests only. This distribution of captaincy is called split captaincy.

Teams with split captaincy in the current round
England: Joe Root (Test) Eoin Morgan (T20 and ODI)
Australia: Tim Paine (Test) Aaron Finch (T20 and ODI)
West Indies: Craig Brathwaite (Test), Kieron Pollard (T20 and ODI)
South Africa: Dean Elgar (Test) Temba Bavuma (T20 and ODI)
Bangladesh Mominul Haque: (Test) Tamim Iqbal (ODI) Mahmudullah (T20)
Sri Lanka Dhimuth Karunaratne: (Test) Dasun Shanaka (T20 and ODI)

Leave a Comment