Duchess Catherine + Prince William: Why their royal titles are changing in Scotland

Duchess Catherine + Prince William
In Scotland they are not “Duke and Duchess of Cambridge”

Duchess Catherine and Prince William

© Shirlaine Forrest / Getty Images

Duchess Catherine and Prince William have three different titles in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. During their visit to Scotland, the two were therefore not addressed as usual with “Duke and Duchess of Cambridge”.

Duchess Catherine, 40, and Prince William, 39, caused enthusiasm among the people in Scotland. Throughout Wednesday, the two took time to focus on the topic of “mental health”.

Duchess Catherine and Prince William take care of mental health

Among other things, they attended an intervention program session at St John’s Primary School in Glasgow to help young children build empathy. Kate and William also visited The Wheatley Group – Scotland’s leading housing, care and property management group which is tackling homelessness and supporting vulnerable tenants during the cost of living crisis. But there was a third item on the list of Cambridges: the University of Glasgow. There they spoke with students about how the school has adapted to the corona pandemic through online learning.

Shopping in London

Other titles in Scotland and Ireland

By the way: In Scotland, William and Kate do not have their usual titles “Duke and Duchess of Cambridge”, but “Earl and Countess of Strathearn”. how come Queen Elizabeth, 96, bestowed three different titles on William at his wedding in 2011: Duke of Cambridge, Earl of Strathearn and Baron Carrickfergus. The three titles refer to places in the three parts of the United Kingdom, Cambridge in England, Strathearn in Scotland and Carrickfergus in Northern Ireland. These titles have also applied to Kate ever since.

This fact has a historical background. In 1707, with the “Act of Union”, the kingdoms of Scotland and England were united to form the Kingdom of Great Britain. Finance, trade, parliament and national flag became one with England. However, Scotland retained its independence in terms of its legal and religious system. Since 1999, Scotland has again had its own parliament with limited powers within the UK.

Ireland, on the other hand, was only accepted into political union with Great Britain in 1801. However, over 100 years later, much of Ireland became independent. Only the northern counties remained united with Great Britain.

Sources used: people.com, parliament.uk


Leave a Comment